• CBCA 2018 Short List Announced!

    The Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) today announced the Short List for the 2018 CBCA Book of the Year Awards.


  • CBCA Victoria Announces 2018 Maurice Saxby Creative Development Program Participants

    The CBCA Victoria Branch, with the assistance of the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, would like to announce the successful applicants for the 2018 Maurice Saxby Creative Development Program:


  • Vale Noela Young 1930 – 2018

    Noela Young was born in Sydney. After attending Sydney High School she won a scholarship to the National Art School, then East Sydney Technical College, where she graduated with a Diploma in Illustration and the College Medal for Highest Honours. She began illustrating books in the 1950s, for writers including Hesba Brinsmead, Christobel Mattingley, Ruth Park, Patricia Wrightson, Emily Rodda and Margaret Wild. She received wide acclaim for her work and was best known for her illustrations for Ruth Park’s Muddle-Headed Wombat series.


Established in 1945, the Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) is a not-for-profit, volunteer run organisation which aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians.

The CBCA presents annual awards to books of literary merit, for outstanding contribution to Australian children's literature.

In 2015, the CBCA celebrated 70 years of enjoying and promoting the best of Australian literature for children and young people.