CBCA 2016 Book of the Year Awards Short List Announced!

Book of the Year Awards 2016 Short List Announced!

Today we take great pleasure in announcing the Short List for the 2016 CBCA Book of the Year Awards.

See the Short List 2016 books.

See the Crichton Short List 2016 books.

This year, the Book of The Year Awards celebrates its 70th anniversary making it the longest running book awards in Australia. From the small list of books entered in 1946, entries have now grown to over 400, highlighting the strength and richness of Australian publishing for children, and the talent of those who create the books.

We proudly support Australian authors and illustrators of books for young readers. The Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year awards are extremely influential in children’s publishing and bookselling, promoting quality children's books for schools, libraries and the community at large. We look forward to continuing to encourage new generations of Australian children.

Our National Chair Professor Margot Hillel OAM said, “For over 70 years The Children’s Book Council has made a significant contribution to the success of Australian children’s publishing, an important part of our unique Australian culture and heritage. The CBCA Book of the Year Awards celebrates the wonderful writing and illustrating of Australian creators who produce books for children from the earliest years to upper secondary. The Short List this year once again reflects the high standard of children’s literature in Australia and the CBCA looks forward to promoting Australian children’s literature to new generations of young readers.”

* * * * *

View all news items